put it in my mouth


HERE ARE SOME THINGS I HAVE RECENTLY LEARNED ABOUT QUINCES
November 29, 2010, 7:10 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

1. They cannot be eaten raw. Did you know this? I did not!

2. They are one of the few fruits I have ever kept in my kitchen that I can say have their own perfume. It’s really wondrous.

3. When baked, they’re sort of like apples. The woman at the farmers’ market suggested baking them with a little bit of cinnamon and sugar; Claudia Roden roasts them with sugar and a pat of butter. I found that it proved an excellent vessel for pomegranate molasses. You can do any of these things by baking a quince, whole, for about an hour or so in an oven heated to 375 degrees (until it is soft), and then slice it in half, remove the core, add whatever it is you would like to add, and bake for another 30 minutes to an hour. Next time, I will roast them with chicken and onions, and maybe a little bit of cinnamon and honey.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

